Study to help children with ADHD

4 August 2014 A UC PhD student is investigating micronutrients to see if they can help children with ADHD, and improve their social skills and cognitive functions. (read article)

More News



‘I didn’t want to go anywhere else… UC has interesting courses, great teachers...’

Belinda Davies BA in Sociology and BSc in Psychology
(read profile)


Thinking about Postgraduate Study in Psychology in 2015?

If you are thinking about continuing on to 400-level Psychology or commencing a thesis in 2015, we recently had seminars that covered some of the information you might need. Dr Anthony McLean presented the seminar on 2015 Graduate Opportunities Seminar 6 slides per page (pdf-776KB) and Professor Neville Blampied presented the seminar on Getting Started on a Thesis 6 slides per page (pdf-270KB)

Health Research Council of New Zealand - 2014 Funding Round

Emerging Researcher First Grant: Dr Jacki Henderson, Academic Staff, Psychology Department
Health Research Council of NZ - Neurodevelopmental outcomes of children exposed to methadone during pregnancy
NZ Herald article - 2 October 2014 (scroll down)

Research into the development of personal robots

A group of University of Canterbury students are developing a personal robot with the aim of bringing robotics to people to improve quality of life. Psychology PhD student Kyle Wilson, Physics and Finance graduate Owen Flanagan and Electrical Engineering graduate Luke Schwartfeger are the co-founders of the SelfieBot company and its first personal robot. Read more

Investigating the impact of brain protein

University of Canterbury researchers are investigating a brain protein which may impact on the memory of people with Alzheimer’s disease. Memory problems are common in many diseases of the brain and they are the hallmark of dementia, including Alzheimer’s disease. More than 48,000 New Zealanders had dementia in 2011 and the number is expected to triple by 2050. The financial cost of treating dementia in New Zealand in 2011 was $954 million. University of Canterbury Psychology PhD researcher Susan Rapley says there is no effective treatment for memory loss for those with Alzheimer’s. Read more

Mental Health and Nutrition Research Group

New treatment may help ADHD sufferers (, 29 January 2014)

Nutrients could help ADHD - study (, 30 January 2014)

Mental Health and Nutrition Research Group

Employee Resilience Research

This research group comprises of a team of researchers from Psychology as well as Management, Marketing and Entrepreneurship, the Employee Resilience Research group combines qualitative and quantitative methodologies to investigate and understand resilience from the standpoint of the employee, and of the organisation at large.

Employee Resilience Research

William 'Deak' Helton's research

Psychology Department's Earthquake Research

Canterbury Child Development Research Group

Pre-term babies risk intellectual difficulties (The New Zealand Herald, 24 April 2013)


College of Science Research and Innovation Awards

Many congratulations to members of the Psychology Department in achieving the Research Team Award. They are Professor Neville Blampied, Associate Professor Martin Dorahy, Professor Deak Helton, Professor Simon Kemp, Dr Roeline Kuijer and Professor Julia Rucklidge.

Archive >>