Current Research - Psychology - University of Canterbury - New Zealand

Current/Submitted PhD Student Research

Sophie Barnett

Research Area: "Brain Research - CoRE research"
Supervisor:
Professor John Dalrymple-Alford
Assoc/Co-supervisor: TBC
Contact: sophie.barnett@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Basharati, Zhiyan

Research Area: "Personality typologies of incarcerated male child molesters"
Supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Associate Professor Anthony McLean
Contact: zhiyan.basharati@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Pankaj (Aman) Bedi

Research Area: "Vigilance and the Sustained Attention to Response Task (SART)"
Supervisor:
Professor Willian (Deak) Helton
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Paul Russell
Contact: aman.bedi@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Oindrila Bhattacharya

Research Area: "The operational process of nostalgia"
Supervisor:
Professor Simon Kemp
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Chris Burt
Contact: oindrila.bhattacharya@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Megan Blakely

Research Area: "The effects of sustained physical activity on concurrent cognitive performance"
Supervisor:
Professor Willian (Deak) Helton
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Simon Kemp
Contact: megan.blakely@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

(Julie) Viviana Cedeno Bustos

Research Area: "Development and mapping of young professional mapping scale"
Supervisor:
Assoc. Prof. Chris Burt
Assoc/Co-supervisor: TBA
Contact: julie.cedenobustos@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Kin Yan (May) Chan

Research Area: "The Psychology of Faux Money: A study of Loyalty Schemes"
Supervisor: Professor Simon Kemp
Contact: may.chan@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Lisa Chen

Research Area: "Examining anxiety patterns"
Supervisor:
Professor Martin Dorahy
Assoc/Co-supervisor: TBA
Contact: lisa.chen@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Jacinta Cording

Research Area: "The dynamics of acquisition of choice behaviour"
Supervisor: Associate Professor Anthony McLean
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Contact: jacinta.cording@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Kathryn Darling

Research Area: "Micronutrient treatment of ADHD in children: Effects on social skills and executive function"
Supervisor: Professor Julia Rucklidge
Contact: kathryn.darling@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Michelle Downs-Woolley

Research Area: "Overgeneral autobiographical memory and dissociation"
Supervisor:
Professor Martin Dorahy
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Simon Kemp
Contact: michelle.downs-woolley@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Michael Edwards

Research Area: "Static and dynamic predictors of recidivism for arsonists in New Zealand"
Supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Associate Professor Anthony McLean
Contact: michael.edwards@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Samantha Epling

Research Area: "Dual tasking and multiple resources: The interference of cognitive and physical demands in real world applications".
Supervisor: Professor Deak Helton
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Paul Russell
Contact: samantha.epling@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Kristin Finkbeiner

Research Area: "Dogs as stimuli fostering mental wellbeing: Stress relief, attentional recovery and social functioning in humans"
Supervisor: Professor William (Deak) Helton
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Paul Russell
Contact: kristin.finkbeiner@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Germaine Gerken

Research Area: "Assessing the links between paternal depression and socio-emotional behavioural adjustment problems in their children"
Supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Janet Carter
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Dr Jacki Henderson and Professor Martin Dorahy
Contact: germaine.gerken@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Jeremy Goh

Research Area: "Physical and cognitive intervention and dementia risk in Parkinson's Disease"
Supervisor:
Profesor John Dalrymple-Alford
Assoc/Co-supervisor: TBA
Contact: jeremy.goh@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Jonathan Hackney

Research Area: "Screening and intevention for mild cognitive impairment"
Supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Assoc/Co-supervisor: TBA
Contact: jonathan.hackney@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Jenny Hamilton

Research Area: "Comparative effects to thalamic brain lesions on memory and recovery of function"
Supervisor:
Professor John Dalrymple-Alford
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Rob Hughes
Contact: jenny.hamilton@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Henrieta Hamilton Skurak

Research Area: "Community resilience"
Supervisor:
Dr Joana Kuntz
Co-supervisors: Assoc. Prof. Katharina Naswall and Dr Sanna Malinen (Management)
Contact: henrieta.hamiltonskurak@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Nicola Hancock

Research Area: "Human factor issues in next generation air traffic control systems"
Supervisor:
Professor Willian (Deak) Helton
Assoc/Co-supervisor: TBC
Contact: nicola.hancock@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Joanne Hona

Research Area: “Assessment of treatment for high-risk young offenders”.
Supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Contact: joanne.hona@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

YuChin (Annie) Hsiao

Research Aare: "Psychological effects of overconfidence in decision making"
Supervisor: Professor Simon Kemp
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Assoc. Professor Maros Servatka (Economis and Finance)
Contact: annie.hsiao@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Melissa Laird

Research Area: "Emotional self-regulation and externalizing problems in children exposed to methadone during pregnancy: Outcomes at nine years"
Supervisor: Assoc.Professor Janet Carter
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Dr Jacki Henderson
Contact: melissa.laird@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Samantha Lee

Research Area: "The educational progress of children born to mothers maintained on methadone during pregnancy: A 9-year follow-up evaluation"
Supervisor: Dr Jacki Henderson
Assoc/Co-supervisors: Assoc. Prof. Janet Carter, Assoc. Prof. Katharina Naswall, Professor Lianne Woodward (USA)
Contact: samantha.lee@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Lin Li

Research Area: "Cross-language priming from attended and unattended words: Extension to a non-alphabetic language"
Supervisor: Dr Ewald Neumann
Co-supervisor: Dr Zhe Chen
Contact: lin.li@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Megan Livingston

Research Area: looking at how a combination of physical and cognitive exercises will improve cognition in patients with Parkinson’s Disease; (title to come)
Supervisor: Professor John Dalymple-Alford
Contact: megan.livingstone@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Rosie Marsh

Research Area:"The relationship between memory functioning and dissociation"
Supervisor: Professor Martin Dorahy
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Simon Kemp
Contact: rosie.marsh@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Lucy Moore

Research Area: "Multivariate analyses of treatment efficacy and change in prison-based treatment programmes for sexual offenders against children"
Supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Associate Professor Anthony McLean
Contact: lucy.moore@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Lucy will be pursuing two goals which build on her Master’s research. She will conduct a more comprehensive assessment of treatment efficacy for sexual offenders in New Zealand. The second objective is to conduct a general investigation into how multivariate sta¬tistical methods can be utilized in evalu¬ating treatment efficacy for sexual of¬fenders against children.

Phillipa Newton

Research Area: "Nutritional supplements and withdrawal symptoms in smoking cessation"
Supervisor:
Professor Neville Blampied
Co-supervisor: Professor Julia Rucklidge
Contact: phillipa.newton@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Ivy Nkrumah

Research Area: "Understanding the processing of ignored stimuli"
Supervisor: Dr Ewald Neumann
Co-supervisor: Dr Zhe Chen
Contact: ivy.nkrumah@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Adekunle Olateju

Research Area: looking into organisation change; (title to come)
Supervisor: Dr Joana Kuntz
Contact: adekunle.olateju@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Fleur Pawsey:

Research Area: “Work stress and recovery among sports coaches”
Supervisor: Associate Professor Katharina Naswall
Contact: fleur.pawsey@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Research Area: "A new avenue for medication development to treat addiction: Targeting the trace amine-associated receptor 1"
Supervisor: Dr Juan Canales
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Contact: echo.pei@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Brook Perry

Research Area: "Relative contributions of components of the extended hippocampal system on memory"
Supervisor: Professor John Dalyrmple-Alford
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Dr Juan Canales
Contact: brook.perry@pg.canterbury.ac.nz
Stroke, severe alcohol abuse, and neurodegenerative disorders such as Alzheimer’s disease all prodice severe memory impairments and prognosis is poor (Markowitsch & Staniloiu, 2012). It is generally believed that diverse injury to medial temporal lobe and related subcortical structures within a functional brain system, called the extended hippocampal system, can produce this amnesic condition (Aggleton, 2008; Carlesimo et al, 2011). Nonetheless, the specific and relative influence of the components of the system remains obscure, with surprisingly little evidence on many supposedly critical subcortical structures. The proposed research will be the first to make explicit comparisons across some of these components and determine their impact on functionality of the whole system.

Susan Rapley

Research Area: "C-Type natriuretic peptide in the brain: An important neuropeptide for memory?"
Supervisor: Professor John Dalrmyple-Alford
Assoc/Co-supervisors: Dr Juan Canales and E. Espiner
Contact: susan.rapley@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Hahna Retallick-Brown

Research Area: "A natural approach to treating premenstrual complaints: A randomized control trial comparing Vitamin B6 to a broad spectrum micronutrient formula"
Supervisor:
Professor Julia Rucklidge
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Neville Blampied
Contact: hahna.retallick-brown@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Saleha Siidiqua

Research Area: to be advised

Rebekah Smith

Research Area: "Thriving after trauma: A study on post traumatic growth amongst residents of Christchurch, NZ, after the 2010 and 2011 earthquakes"
Supervisor: Professor Janet Carter
Assoc/Co-supervisor: V. McIntosh
Contact: rebekah.smith@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Geoff Sutton

Research Area: "The effects of sustained physical activity on concurrent cognitive performance"
Supervisor:
Dr Joana Kuntz
Co-supervisor: Assoc. Prof. Katharina Naswall
Contact: geoff.sutton@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Sandila Tanveer

Research Area: "The role of inhibitory modulation of languages in bilinguals"
Supervisor:
Dr Ewald Neumann
Assoc/Co-supervisor: TBA
Contact: sandila.tanveer@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Rikki Thompson

Research Area: "The behavioural effects and psychopharmacology of methylmethcathinone (Mephedrone) or "Bath Salts" on hooded rats"
Supervisor: Professor Rob Hughes
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Dr Juan Canales
Contact: rikki.thompson@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Megan Tucker

Research Area: "A psychological approach to financial problems in criminal offenders"
Supervisor: Professor Randolph Grace
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Professor Simon Kemp
Contact: megan.tucker@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top

Matthew (Matt) Ward

Research Area: "Voluntary augmentation with wearable computers"
Supervisor: Assoc.Professor Deak Helton
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Mark Billinghurst (HIT Lab)
Contact: matthew.ward@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Signe Wiingaard

Research Area: "The Therapeutic Relationship in therapy delivered via a video-link"
Supervisor: Professor Lucy Johnston, (Dean Postgraduate Research - UoC)
Assoc/Co-supervisors: Professor David Gleaves (University of South Australia) and Professor Martin Dorahy
Contact: signe.uw@gmail.com
Psychotherapy delivered via a video-link continues to increase in mental health settings. However, little is know about how the therapeutic relationship is influenced by the video modality. This PhD project studies the relationship between client characteristics, therapist non-verbal communication and the therapeutic relationship in therapy delivered through a video-link. The aim is to better understand the role of common therapeutic factors in therapy mediated by a video-link.

Kyle Wilson

Research Area: "Investigating and enhancing the civil use of remotely-operated aerial vehicles"
Supervisor: Assoc.Professor Deak Helton
Assoc/Co-supervisors: Paul Russell and Dr Katharina Naswall
Contact: kyle.wilson@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Kyla-Louise Wood

Research Area:"MRI correlates of different criteria for mild cognitive impairment in Parkinson's disease"
Supervisor: Professor John Dalrymple-Alford
Assoc/Co-supervisors: T. Melzer & T. Anderson
Contact: kyla.wood@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Martina Zivic (Simpson)

Research Area:"Long term mental health effects following a natural disaster"
Supervisor: Professor Martin Dorahy
Assoc/Co-supervisor: Dr Eileen Britt
Contact: martina.simpson@pg.canterbury.ac.nz

Top